Romania imposes mandatory quarantine on arrivals from Hungary and 48 other states

Romania has tightened entry conditions for people arriving from Hungary and 48 other countries as of Wednesday, October 7. The decision was taken as the Romanian National Center for Disease Prevention and Control (CNSU) updated the list of countries where the epidemiological situation had worsened due to the increased spread of the coronavirus infection. In the 49 states included on the “yellow list” of the CNSU, the number of daily infections registered in the past two weeks per 100,000 inhabitants has surpassed the Romanian data. While in Romania this figure was 109.6, in Hungary the number of newly diagnosed cases in the past two weeks was 129.1 per 100,000 inhabitants, news agency Agerpres reported.

According to the entry restrictions announced on Monday by Minister of Health Nelu Tătaru, travelers arriving from the “yellow listed” states and who intend to stay for more than three days in Romania have to go into compulsory home isolation for a period of 14 days. Romanian nationals returning home from these 49 states are not exempt from the rule. Only those travelers arriving from the “yellow zone” who can present a negative COVID-19 test at the border and do not plan to stay more than three days are exempt from mandatory home quarantine. The test should not be older than 48 hours.

Those choosing to go into compulsory home isolation upon arrival can take a COVID-19 test after seven days. If their results are negative, the mandatory quarantine ends after ten days.

The Romanian National Center for Disease Prevention and Control updated the list of countries belonging to the epidemiological “yellow zone” on Monday, based on the surveillance report of the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control, which provides an overview of the epidemiological situation of the COVID-19 pandemic by country.

The entry restrictions are imposed upon arrivals from: Israel, Andorra, Montenegro, Bahrain, Aruba, Argentina, Guam, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba, Spain, the Czech Republic, Costa Rica, Puerto Rico, The Bahamas, The Republic of Moldova, France, the Netherlands, Gibraltar, French Polynesia, Sint Maarten, Libanon, Belgium, the Republic of Panama,  The Republic of Cape Verde, the United States of America, Peru, Kuwait, Columbia, Brazil, Armenia, the United Kingdom, Iceland, Oman, Iraq, the Maldives, Paraguay, Luxemburg, Belize, United Arab Emirates, Palestine, Denmark, Libya, Hungary, Chile, Slovakia, Ukraine, Austria, Curaçao, Georgia and Qatar.

Title image: Compulsory isolation can only be avoided by presenting a negative test result at the border or if the traveler’s stay does not exceed three days

Source: politiadefrontiera.ro

Author: Éva Zay